Hello All,
Does anyone have some good ideas for some exercises leading up to the piaffe? I have a strong, collected and willing PSG gelding. He can sit very well - sometimes too much so he gets stuck. He also has trouble getting the rhythm and I'm not sure how to proceed. He is not hot at all, so it is also a challenge to get him to be that little bit quick. Although I have ridden the piaffe on other horses, teaching a horse is completely new to me. I am an experienced rider and can follow directions, so feel free to give any suggestions and I'll let you know how things progress.
Thank you!!

Views: 37

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Barbara,
This is a tricky one! I have only taught 2 horses to piaffe, with different trainers and totally different methods. So I'm no expert, but here's what I've learned so far:
The first time, the aid was to put both legs far back & sit light. There was a lot of pushing and holding, and he figured it out eventually. With my current horse, the aid I have taught him is both legs on the girth, sit very still and light and generate energy without moving(!) - my trainer calls it 'electric stillness' if that makes any sense at all. We taught it first in hand, to piaffe from the voice out of a slow collected walk. Then I got on, and added the physical aid to the voice aid (with assistance from an experienced person on the ground to begin with!) - If nothing happens, he gets a quick smack. Now he is getting more reliable, as we do it a little every day. My horse has also had trouble finding the rhythm, so sometimes I do it from trot, to give him the 2-beat idea. keeping him more on the spot is helping with rhythm also, but this is something I have been able to do only recently, as he is a 'backward thinker', and a little fragile in the contact.
Whatever aid you choose to teach the horse, probably the hardest part is showing him what you want, without giving confusing stop/go messages.